Ukraine Has Signed the European Agreement on Legal Assistance Applications Transmission

Ukraine has signed the European Agreement on legal assistance applications transmission. The signing ceremony took place today at the European Council headquarters in Strasbourg according to the media office of the European Council.

The Agreement aims at eliminating economic barriers, which complicate the access to justice, and simplifying the protection of rights in the participating states for economically vulnerable persons.

Consequently, the Agreement stipulates that persons having common place of residence at the territory of one contractual party can apply for legal assistance in civil, trade or administrative affairs at the territory of another contractual party.

The Agreement establishes a procedure to follow and besides allows interested persons to apply for legal assistance via an authorized body of the participating state they are commonly reside in.

Ukraine has become the 33rd member of the European Council to sign this Agreement.

Twelve countries (Andorra, Armenia, Croatia, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, RF, San-Marino, Slovakia and Slovenia) have not signed and ratified the Agreement yet.

Germany and Iceland signed the Agreement in 1999 and 2000 correspondingly, but no ratification has been performed.

Source: Evropeyska Pravda